Main Menu
Top of Page
Top of Page
  | Home   | Index   | Info   | This Week   | Poker   | News   | Email

Welcome to the News desk.

World Series Of Poker 2013 Final Result 10/11/2013
Richard Whitehouse
Ryan Riess Wins 2013 WSOP Main Event Championship

The 2013 World Series of Poker Main Event has come to an end. Emerging victorious and winning the massive $8,361,570 first-place prize was 23-year-old youngster Ryan Riess after he defeated Jay Farber heads up for the most coveted prize in all of poker. For his runner-up result, Farber took home a proud $5,174,357.

Back in July, 6,352 hopefuls took their seats in the 2013 WSOP Main Event, all vying for the richest prize in poker history. Among them were champions from the past, poker legends, dream chasers, and grinders from all over. It was then that Riess was just another young face in the field, but things would all change slowly over the course of the next seven grueling days of poker. Following Day 7, Riess was one of the famed November Nine, taking the fifth-largest stack into November. Eight more eliminations later and Riess was the last man standing.

Entering the final table, all eyes were on chip leader JC Tran. He came into the final table with a large gap separating him and second place, but Tran's run ended in fifth place.

Heads-up play began Tuesday evening and lasted more than three hours and 91 hands.

When heads-up play began, Farber had the chip lead by roughly 20 million over Riess. Quickly, though, Riess powered his way to the front with expert play and timely maneuvers. Every big pot seemed to be pushed the way of Riess, although there was one double up for Farber that extended play a bit. At one point during heads-up play, the two players were within a single 25,000 chip of each other, despite about 192,000,000 in tournament chips in play.

On that double up, Farber took his straight draw up against Riess' top pair in a clash on the flop. Spiking the straight on the turn gave Farber some extra life, but Riess didn't waver. He sat right back down and went back to work.

On the final hand, Hand #261 of the final table, Farber was all in with the Q 5 against Riess' A Q. While Riess had a powerful hand in the confrontation, Farber had two very live cards and a solid chance at doubling up once again.

Following the flop of J 10 4, Farber was looking for a five to stay alive. His queen would now give Riess a Broadway straight, and that would've spelled the end. The turn was the 3, leaving just one more card for Riess to dodge.

The 4 paired the board on the river, and the swarming began. Riess' rail stormed the stage, engulfing the new champion and piling on top of him. Chants of "Riess the beast!" rang loud throughout the Penn & Teller Theater, but Riess made sure to fight his way out of the pack and congratulate Farber on a job well done.

Overcome with joy, Riess hugged his railbirds one by one, grabbing his close family members a little tighter than the others, but nonetheless showing emotion with each person individually. He came into the final table believing he was the best player remaining, and he can now rightfully call himself world champion.

Congratulations to Ryan Riess, the champion of the 2013 World Series of Poker Main Event!

He went on to say after the event, “I was so excited waiting the 100 days to play. I'm almost speechless. I'm just so happy that all my friends and family could come out and watch me and support me. It's just such an amazing feeling.” And went on to say, “I have been dreaming about this for a long time, ever since I was 14, and saw (Chris) Moneymaker win. I just had a great feeling about this. I know the table was tough. Some were saying this was one of the toughest tables there was, but I was extremely fortunate to catch some cards at the right moments. I just had a good feeling about it all.”

There are now 38 different players who have won the WSOP Main Event Championship. Of this number, 28 past champions are still living. Of these, 19 played in the 2013 Main Event. Only a few pastchampions cashed this year. Carlos Mortensen was by far the highest finisher (10th), followed by Doyle Brunson (409th):

Click here for the full 2013 No-Limit Hold’em World Championship

Premier League Football